LINCOLN – The Saltdogs will be represented by four players on the North team at the 2016 American Association All-Star Game in St. Paul, Minn.: starting D.H. Curt Smith; pitchers Lindsey Caughel and Evan Reed; and reserve catcher Luis Alen.
First pitch is set for August 2 at  7 p.m. CT from CHS Field, and will be telecast live on Fox Sports Midwest Plus (DirecTV channel 671-1; Dish Network 452) and on AmericanAssociationBaseball.TV.
Smith, a fourth-year Saltdogs slugger from Willemstad, Curacao, ranks sixth in the American Association with a .340 batting average and second in slugging percentage at .567.
The “Dutch Driller” has swatted 11 home runs with 11 doubles and 35 RBI in 49 games. Smith, one home run short of matching his career high, has been invited to participate in the August 1 Home Run Derby as part of the All-Star game festivities.
The home run derby will be telecast live from CHS Field on AmericanAssociationBaseball.TV.
Caughel leads the American Association with 77 strikeouts (9/9 IP) and leads all active pitchers with a 2.10 ERA.
The 25-year old righty from Orlando, Fla. is 5-3 and sports a 5.5 strikeout-to-walk ratio and a razor-thin 0.99 WHIP. Caughel has pitched at least six innings in all 11 of his outings and has allowed two runs or less nine times, with 10 “quality starts.”
Reed ranks second in the American Association with 13 saves, and has allowed just two runs in his 23 1/3 innings.
The 30-year old former Detroit Tiger has not allowed a run since May and boasts a sparkling 0.77 ERA. Reed has struck out 24 and walked just two on the campaign.
Alen is hitting .305 with six doubles, four home runs and 30 RBI.
The 31-year old from San Francisco, Venez. has drawn 27 walks and has struck out just 11 times in 223 plate appearances. Alen has thrown out 10 of 40 attempting base stealers.
The All-Star rosters were assembled from the votes of the league’s managers, and the reserves and pitchers were selected by North manager Steve Montgomery (Sioux City) and South manager Pete Incaviglia (Laredo) for their respective clubs.
The North All-Star team is composed of the eight members from the American Association’s North and Central divisions – the St. Paul Saints, Winnipeg Goldeyes, Fargo-Moorhead RedHawks and Sioux Falls Canaries (North); the Lincoln Saltdogs, Gary SouthShore RailCats, Sioux City Explorers and Kansas City T-Bones (Central).
The South All-Star team is composed of the four members of the American Association’s South division — the Joplin Blasters, Laredo Lemurs, Texas AirHogs and Wichita Wingnuts. The South All-Star team will also include representatives from the six-team Can-Am League. The Can-Am League is composed of the New Jersey Jackals, Ottawa Champions, Quebec Capitales, Rockland Boulders, Sussex County Miners and Trois-Rivieres Aigles. Miles Wolff serves as the Commissioner of both the American Association and Can-Am League.
The 2016 American Association North All-Stars (starters in bold): 1B Angelo Songco (St. Paul); 2B Tony Thomas (St. Paul); SS Nate Samson (Sioux City); 3B Josh Mazzola (Fargo); C Jose Gonzalez (Gary); OF David Rohm (Winnipeg); OF Alonzo Harris (St. Paul); OF Keury De La Cruz (Fargo); D.H. Curt Smith (Lincoln); INF Blake Schmit (Sioux Falls); C Luis Alen (Lincoln); OF Kes Carter (Fargo); LHP Tyler Alexander (Fargo); RHP Lindsey Caughel (Lincoln); RHP Mark Hamburger (St. Paul); RHP Mark Haynes (Kansas City); RHP Connor Overton (Sioux City); RHP Colton Reavis (Fargo); RHP Evan Reed (Lincoln); RHP Ryan Rodebaugh (St. Paul); RHP Charle Rosario (Gary); RHP Rob Wort (Sioux City).
The 2016 American Association South All-Stars (starters in bold): 1B Art Charles (New Jersey); 2B Brian Bistagne (Texas); SS Junior Arrojo (Rockland); 3B Danny Mateo (Trois-Rivieres); C Marcus Nidiffer (Rockland); OF Harrison Kain (Wichita); OF Brent Clevlen (Wichita); OF Burt Reynolds (Texas); D.H. Denis Phipps (Laredo); INF Alvaro Rondon (Laredo); C Zane Chavez (Laredo); OF Jay Austin (Sussex County); RHP Ryan Beckman (Laredo); RHP Victor Capellan (Joplin); RHP Austin Chrismon (Ottawa); RHP Daniel Cordero (Ottawa); RHP Jon Fitzsimmons (Quebec); RHP Jeff Inman (Laredo); RHP Barrett Loux (Laredo); RHP Jose Nivar (Laredo); LHP Frankie Reed (Wichita); RHP Lee Sosa (New Jersey).